Monoel Street, Castries

Fire Service Headquarters

+1 (758) 455-6100

24/7 Customer Support

Mon - Fri: 9:00 - 17:30

Emergency Line 24/7

Dial 911 for Emergencies

The Saint Lucia Fire Service was established in 1974 to serve and protect the people of Saint Lucia in the event of fires, accidents or natural disasters. With nine stations island wide, we are present and able to deliver service to our communities.

Service, Commitment, Devotion

To provide effective and efficient coverage throughout the island for the protection and preservation of life and property from fires, accidents, floods, dangerous chemicals and other disasters.

Prior to September 1974, the St. Lucia Fire Service was under the administration of the Commissioner of Police and regular Police Officers were assigned to perform firefighting duties. The need for a divorce from the police force became apparent as a result of rapid economic growth, and the frequency and extent of fires which had to be handled by police officers at that time.

On September 14th, 1974, the Fire Service was established and became a separate entity from the police force by an act of parliament. This act was later renamed and is presently entitled the Fire Service act of 1973. Mr. John McPherson, a Guyanese national, became the first Chief Fire Officer under this act.